We are a welcoming congregation.
View our Covenant of Good Relations.

Social Justice

Ways to Take Action

Dismantling White Supremacy Teach In

A handout was shared at the 10/1/17 Teach In. Click here for the handout. The authors/creators of this material are included in the document. Unfortunately the graphic of the triangle, showing overt and covert white supremacy behaviors, is not available for posting.

Acting on Our Values to Help Heal the World

Our Social Justice Mission

Creating justice & compassion in our community through spiritually-grounded action.

Service Projects

Every two or three months, the SJMT organizes a family-friendly service project in partnership with a local community-based organization.

Generosity Offerings

Every Sunday, 85% of the offering that is received is donated to non-profit organizations that share our values and are working to bring about the beloved community.

SJMT Bi-Annual Meetings

Twice a year, the leaders of the SJMT meet to make decisions about generosity offerings, coordinate activities, share information, and deepen their leadership skills. All are welcome!

Social Justice Leadership Training

Join us to gain skills and insights to make you a more effective and compassionate leader and to deepen the connection between your spirituality and social justice work. 

Weekly Food Drive

Every week there are barrels on the patio to collect non-perishable food that is distributed through Mama's Kitchen. We invite you to contribute!

Leadership

Angela Fujii, Social Justice Communications    Email angela@firstuusandiego.org
 Kathleen Owens, Lead Minister Email kathleen@firstuusandiego.org
 Newt Ferris, Lay Leader Email: newtfs@juno.com
 Karen Lamphere, Lay Leader Email: klamphere100@gmail.com

Action and Affiliate Groups and Leaders

SOLACE
 Email     Email solace@firstuusandiego.org 
 Lay Leaders:
 Kathy Smith  Email ksmith04@san.rr.com
 Steve Howard   Email steve@san.rr.com 
     SOLACE First Church webpage 

Immigrant and Racial Justice
 Connie Mack   Email cmack5313@gmail.com 
 Penny P. Moreau  Email mikeandpenny@san.rr.com
 Christina Imhoof   Email cimhoof@msn.com 
 Julie Schauble-Nyugen   Email jnschauble-nguyen@gmail.com 
     Immigrant and Racial Justice First Church webpage

Organizing for Justice / SDOP (San Diego Organizing Project)
 Newt Ferris   Email newtfs@juno.com 
 Julie Schauble-Nuygen   Email jnschauble-nguyen@gmail.com 
 Bella Furth   Email ifurth@me.com 
 Angela Garcia-Sims   Email agarciasim@aol.com 
 Jose Rodriquez, San Diego Organizing Project Organizer   Email jose@sdop.net 
     Organizing for Justice First Church webpage
     SDOP webpage

Climate Justice
 James Long    Email kyolong1@gmail.com 
 Bev Harju     Email harjub@ecu.edu 
 Michael Gilgun  Email mgilgun@cox.net 
     Climate Justice First Church webpage

UPTOWN Faith Community Service Center
 Irene Grumman   Email 6g5rumman@gmail.com
     UPTOWN Faith Community Service Center First Church webpage
     UPTOWN Faith Community Service Center webpage

Reproductive Justice
 Karen Lamphere    Email: klamphere100@gmail.com
 Jan Gallo   Email jngallo@yahoo.com
     Reproductive First Church webpage

Rainbow Action
 John Keasler    Email jcksdca@gmail.com
 Pat Gordon   Email Pat
     Rainbow Action First Church webpage 

Fair Elections Task Force
 John Hartley     Email hartley2k@aol.com
     Fair Elections First Church webpage 

General Social Justice Inquiries

 This e-mail inbox will be reviewed by the Social Justice Exec Team and is the best place to direct people who are interested in getting involved, have an idea for an event or project, or want to learn more about the justice ministry.

Use this email address if you would like articles included in Upcoming Social Justice Opportunities. The Social Justice Exec. Team will review the requests and direct these to the appropriate place.

Communications

 We will be sending out Upcoming Social Justice Opportunities. We can also provide support in getting the word out about important social justice actions through social media, pulpit announcements and inserts.

Generosity Offerings

Christina Imhoof     Email cimhoof@msn.com

Soledad “Chole” Diaz    Email cvgal3@hotmail.com

Service Projects
 Brittany Keegan     Email brittany.keegan@goddard.edu
 Melissa James, Director of Children & Family Ministry   Email Melissa
 Melissa and Brittany will be organizing quarterly family-friendly service projects.

Social Justice Table
 Irene Grumman   Email 6g5rumman@gmail.com
 Penny Moreau    Email mikeandpenny@san.rr.com
 Irene and Penny are available for support for the Sunday Social Justice Ministry Team Table on the Hillcrest Campus. Each action or affiliate group is responsible for bringing updated information and sign-up sheets for the table. Volunteers will recycle old materials.

Social Justice Blog